Skip to Content

Therese Kayser Lindsey Literary Series

For more than forty years the Lindsey Literary Series has brought outstanding authors of fiction, nonfiction, and poetry to central Texas to deliver free public readings of their work. In recent years, featured authors have included winners of the Pulitzer Prize, the National Book Award, and the MacArthur Fellows "Genius Grant," among many other awards. 

The Lindsey Literary Series is sponsored by the Therese Kayser Lindsey Endowment, Texas State University’s Department of English and Wittliff Collections, the Burdine Johnson Foundation, and the Katherine Anne Porter Literary Center.

We invite you to join us at the historic Katherine Anne Porter Literary Center in Kyle, Texas, or at Texas State University's San Marcos campus, for the 2022-2023 reading series. You can also view videos of more than 300 past speakers on our archive page.


2022-2023 Lindsey Reading Series Schedule

Jane Wong

Texas State University - Katherine Anne Porter Literary Center
Friday, February 17 | 7:30pm


Jane Wong is the author of How to Not Be Afraid of Everything and Overpour. Her debut memoir, Meet Me Tonight in Atlantic City, is forthcoming this year. She is an Associate Professor of Creative Writing at Western Washington University. Her poems have appeared in Best American Nonrequired Reading, Best American Poetry, The New York Times, American Poetry Review, POETRY, The Kenyon Review, New England Review, and others. A Kundiman fellow, she is the recipient of a Pushcart Prize and a fellowship from the U.S. Fulbright Program.

Joy Williams

Texas State University - The Wittliff Collections
Thursday, March 2 | 3:30pm


Joy Williams is the author of five novels. Her most recent novel, Harrow, was published in September 2021. Her first, State of Grace, was nominated for a National Book Award, and her book The Quick and the Dead was a finalist for the Pulitzer Prize. She is the author of the short story collections Taking CareEscapes, and Honored Guest, and the essay collection Ill Nature: Rants and Reflections on Humanity and Other Animals.  A 30th anniversary reprint of The Changeling was issued in 2008 with an introduction by the American novelist Rick Moody.

Jericho Brown

Texas State University - Katherine Anne Porter Literary Center
Friday, March 24 | 7:30pm


Jericho Brown is author of the The Tradition, for which he won the Pulitzer Prize. Brown’s first book, Please, won the American Book Award. His second book, The New Testament, won the Anisfield-Wolf Book Award. His third collection, The Tradition won the Paterson Poetry Prize and was a finalist for the National Book Award and the National Book Critics Circle Award. His poems have appeared in The Bennington Review, jubilat, The New Republic, The New York Times, The New Yorker, The Paris Review, TIME Magazine, and several volumes of The Best American Poetry.

Fernando A. Flores

Texas State University - Katherine Anne Porter Literary Center
Friday, March 24 | 7:30pm


Fernando A. Flores was born in Reynosa, Tamaulipas, Mexico, and grew up in South Texas. He is the author of the collections Valleyesque and Death to the Bullshit Artists of South Texas, as well as a novel, Tears of the Trufflepig, which was long-listed for the Center for Fiction First Novel Prize. His fiction has appeared in the Los Angeles Review of Books Quarterly, American Short Fiction, Ploughshares, Frieze, Porter House Review, and elsewhere. He lives in Austin, Texas.

More information on the Lindsey Literary Series can be found at the Katherine Anne Porter Literary Center Website.

Photo credits: Arlene Mejorado (Luis Rodriguez); Art Streiber (Carmen Machado); Rachel Eliza Griffiths (Erika Sanchez); Stephen Sproll (Adrian Matejka); Diego Berruecos (Valeria Luiselli).